Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Paging MacGyver - electrical question...
    Rick -I have two outlet boxes in the back of my house (exterior), they are both wired, and hot.
    They just had flat cover plates on them, and I want outlets out there. Everything checks out, weathertight boxes, 12g wire, plastic conduit underground.
    I picked up a leviton GFI, and another leviton outlet to install with weatherproof cover plates. hooked them up yesterday, and the GFI pops immediately when power is put to it. Everything looks fine to me. I'm not a Master electrician, but not a novice either. I have the line/load running correctly to the GFI (checked this morning). I have the grounds tied together, and a ground pigtail running to the GFI outlet, but the GFI won't reset, it just pops as soon as it see's power.
    SO, what's my problem?? And, what do I need to do to further diagnose/rectify this problem??
    "Keep the bottle on the bar Ira, I won't be long".

2. Collapse Details

Is the circuit breaker servicing that circuit already a GFIC breaker?
    People we meet in life are either a Blessing or a Lesson

3. Collapse Details

not sure.
    I'm not popping any breakers, and I'm not 100% on which circuit these two are run on. I just shut off several that I know are in the general area of the house, and checked to make sure the circuit wasn't live before hooking it up.
    The GFI is just popping at the outlet. I'm assuming it is doing exactly what is supposed to do. I'm just trying to figure out what I need to do to fix it. These two outlets are going to supply a flat screen and a stereo when I put in the hot-tub

4. Collapse Details

It's a 200amp service panel that is FULL.
    No GFI breakers, but about 3-4 AFCI breakers. I still haven't figured those out either...

5. Collapse Details

Appleton, Wisconsin. Where we have 2 seasons... winter and road construction