PDA

View Full Version : Technical understanding of x-dimension

LaughingCat
05-26-2009, 09:13 AM
I have more than 20 years of boating experience. Never owned a boat with surface drives or shorties, but have spent the last several years in wonder of how 2 boats with identical power can attain very different speeds based on lower and higher x-dimensions. I always figured if you trim the motors out and let the props break free, you get additional speed but also risk of porpoising. Do the surface drives and shorties get more speed because the blades on the top of rotation are not getting resistance from the water? It would seem that the same engine putting out the same RPMs and horsepower wouldn't be able to give you that much more speed.

Can someone explain this concept to me? Anyone have cool graphics that can illustrate the benefits?

glassdave
05-26-2009, 09:19 AM
bringing the X dim up gets more case and prop out of the water allowing less drag. Not the same as trimming the drive up, that also vectors the thrust adversly.

C_Spray
05-26-2009, 09:54 AM
Dave's right - It's about gearcase and skeg drag, while keeping the direction of thrust reasonably parallel to the waterline.

Technically, "X-dimension" is the crankshaft height, not the propshaft height. Not all drive packages have the same offset between the two.

Big Time
05-26-2009, 10:21 AM
Good question. OK, let's take this a step further since LCat has brought this up. How is x demension measured? C Spray, you say it is crankshaft height....is the measurement from the bottom of the transom to cranksaft? Where do the #'s come from.

MOBILEMERCMAN
05-26-2009, 10:36 AM