PDA

View Full Version : Vonage or other phone options

Ms PatriYacht
04-14-2009, 01:15 AM
I am looking for a third line. I would like it to have a NY area code, instead of my MI one. I would need voice mail, caller ID, and very good reception in receiving and making calls. There are several reasons I don't want an ATT line, they are expensive to have installed and I assume that you have to use your local area code. It's also important that the new number does not appear on my phone bill.

Vonage looks like it could give me all that and then some but a lot of the reviews talk about poor reception and slowing down the computer. These
will be business calls so reception is very important. Since I have to use the computer while on the phone I can't have the phone slowing the computer down. I am not tech savvy so the phone system can't be to complicated to hook up.

I have seen TV adds for an additional land line called something like phone jack, but I can't find anything on it, has anyone seen that add and know the company's name or web site. Is that product any good.

If anyone here has or had Vonage, what do you think of it and do you use it often. Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks

boatme
04-14-2009, 05:46 AM
I have had Vonage in my office now for two years

We spend all day on the phone, calling all over the country, and have had almost NO problems

Great thing is if you move to a new location you just unplug the unit and take it to anywhere with a cable connection and you are up and running in seconds no transfers necessary

I have caller ID, call forwarding, fax line and an 800 number

I would NEVER sign up for a regular land line again

I can't be more pleased

cuda
04-14-2009, 07:21 AM
I'm pretty sure the other phone system you're talking about is Majic Jack. I think my younger brother has Vonnage.

florida gator
04-14-2009, 07:59 AM