PDA

View Full Version : Wellcraft Nova Spyder Destruction/Reconstruction

26 Spyder
01-08-2009, 12:19 PM
I am completely rebuilding an '87 Wellcraft Nova Spyder.
I started a thread on OSO but I will bring the progress over here if you guys have interest.
There will be a lot of custom work done to this, including;
* Custom Carbon Fiber Dash, & Other Panels
* Custom Paint & Graphics
* Custom Windscreen
* Custom Engine Hatch
* Custom Blower Vents
* Shaved Rubrail
* Transom Replacement
* Bilge Liner Rebuild
* Cockpit Liner Removal & Installation
* Possible Conversion To Single Engine

This project is being done on a very tight budget so I will be getting very creative on a few things.
I am also new to some of this in-depth glass work and fabrication so it may get comical:biggrinjester:

This boat has not seen water for over 10 years!
The hull is in decent shape. There is the normal dock rash and damage for a 22 year old boat. The structure of the hull is worse than I thought.:(
There are many holes in the topside to be filled and a few stress cracks in the usual places.
Plans are for a shaved smooth finish with a silver base and possibly some blue based graphics.

Again, project details will be posted if you guys have interest.

glassdave
01-08-2009, 12:49 PM
By all means post away, we love these kinda threads. You have my info if you need any guidance at all. By the way someone grabbed that hatch extra i had just before Christmas (hell'uva stuffer :D).

As always . . . post lots'a pics.

26 Spyder
01-08-2009, 01:04 PM
By the way someone grabbed that hatch extra i had just before Christmas (hell'uva stuffer :D).

Bummer on the hatch:( I was playing with mine yesterday and was thinking it was unusually heavy... I cut it apart and found a waterlogged foam core... Not much left to work with now. Looks like a hatch from scratch now...

By all means post away, we love these kinda threads. You have my info if you need any guidance at all.
As always . . . post lots'a pics.