PDA

View Full Version : aronow powerboats history?

Jesse James
02-11-2010, 09:48 PM
since the turbine thread was so informative, a friend and I were discussing this last night...

were aronow powerboats ( 39 and 45) founded or in the design stages before dons passing?

if not who spearheaded the project, and who was building the boats in 90

is the 39 aronow a top gun with platform or a dammed 41 apache, or an original?

did magic make any changes to the running surface after getting the 39 tooling?

thanks

Jesse James
02-13-2010, 04:09 PM
Ttt

CRC
02-13-2010, 04:28 PM
They claimed that Don designed the original model before his death. Don Aronow did not have anything to do with this company though and it is not considered an Aronow company such as Donzi, Cigarette and Formula. It seems to be more of an attempt to capitalize on Don Aronow's name. I am not an expert on this though.....

Sean Stinson
02-14-2010, 10:20 AM
It didn't actually become Aronow Powerboats until after Don's death....It was USA racing team....The 45 was to be Don's new raceboat upon his return to racing that year or the following!!!

Garbrecht ran Aronow Powerboats until they shut it down in the 90's and the molds were sold to Magic EXCEPT for the 45 mold which had an insert to build a 42 as well as 2 deck molds which Garbrecht kept and sold at a later time.....

MidOcean
02-14-2010, 08:18 PM
It didn't actually become Aronow Powerboats until after Don's death....It was USA racing team....The 45 was to be Don's new raceboat upon his return to racing that year or the following!!!

Garbrecht ran Aronow Powerboats until they shut it down in the 90's and the molds were sold to Magic EXCEPT for the 45 mold which had an insert to build a 42 as well as 2 deck molds which Garbrecht kept and sold at a later time.....