Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Can there be electric offshore race boats?
    I have seen offshore boats that have 500 gal gas tanks, if they were full of gas would weight over 3000 lbs.
    Two big block engines with accessories, transmissions, cooling, out drives would weight in at 3000 plus.
    I have seen engines cost 50,000.00 plus, Boats over a million dollars.

So for the sake of argument, lets not consider cost and figure out what it would take to make a boat that would go 50 mph and go for 100 miles.

With the light boat hulls available and the newer batteries available and the newest types of motors, what would it take?????????????

The boat could be perfectly balanced and stay that way all thru the race.

I don't want to hear why it can not be done, I want to hear HOW we can do it! I know it can be done!
    Last edited by gearhead; 05-09-2012 at 06:17 PM.

2. Collapse Details

Registered
    I have some experience with both electric and offshore boats. Dry Martini had two 600 hp engines and a top speed of 85+ mph. We carried 400 gallons of fuel. Duplicating this with electric motors would require motors developing 900 KW. High voltage automobile AC systems run around 500 volts, so that would require handling 1,800 amps, probably divided among at least two motors. The real issue is batteries. Dry Martini could have run for about 4 hours at full throttle on 400 gallons. That's maybe 300 miles, though it would be a calm race to average those speeds. It would take about 1 1/4 hours to go 100 miles at 80 mph in our electric offshore boat. We would need a 135 cell (500/3.7) lithium polymer battery with 1,125 ampere hours of capacity. Since there needs to be some safety factor, let's say the battery would need 1,400 ampere hours. A single 3,7 volt 5 ampere hour cell weighs around .441 pounds. Lower cost cells might weigh .3 pounds. We would need a 135S 280P battery. That means 135 cells in series with 280 groups of 135 cells in parallel f