Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Amsoil SVG Severe Lube Water Tolerance?
    Registered
    Merc states their drive lubes will still work if contaminated by some water like up to ~10% as does Amsoil for their AGM Marine lube. I once had an old outboard that before I repaired it had a persistant water entrance problem from a damaged water pump sealing surface at the drive shaft that confirmed this capability for the Merc lube.

I have been using Redline Shock Proof Gear Lube (Heavy) since 2006 on a new Bravo X1. At that time Redline application chart recommended it for drives. That chart is now gone and Redline currently says not to use this in drives. A post on a diffferent site reported catistrophic drive failure with the Redline lube do to water contamination.

My Redline lube last season tested with 0.5% water vs lab recommendation of <0.1%. and the lube did not look abnormal and the drive had just been rebuilt (do to excessive torque breaking a gear not water in the lube). It is easy enough to get some fishing line wrapped around the propshaft and cut a seal.

The Amsoil SVG appears to be the lube of choice to protect the gears in high hp Brave drives. Does anyone have first hand experience of running a drive with the Amsoil SVG that became contaminated with water?

Just trying to make an informed choice. Thanks for any input on the Amsoil SVG lube vs water.

2. Collapse Details

Why not just use the Merc perf lube?

3. Collapse Details

Registered
    Quote Originally Posted by htrdlncn View Post
    Why not just use the Merc perf lube?
    Post 2005 Bravo XR upper gears are experiencing a high incidence rate of early failure (premature gear surface failure not out right torque induced gear tooth fracture) with 600 and above hp. Many in that situation have found the Amsoil SVG Severe gear lube to improve the post 2005 XR gear life. At 625hp I am looking for a best option.

4. Collapse Details