PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Prop Sets?

cougarman
08-24-2009, 06:59 PM
Question for the Masses,.............Forget the dollars.

If you could have two complete sets of Props, one for ultimate speed
and the other set for trips etc. ( Basically and over drive set )

Is there enough noticable difference or just have one set to do it all?

Informative answers encouraged :sifone:

Thanks
Jon

Ratickle
08-24-2009, 07:14 PM
In a very fast/tweaked boat that has everything else done to it, I believe there is a minimum of 5% between an acceleration prop and a top speed prop. I also believe there is another 5% between the acceleration prop and a "cruise" prop. I'm talking in a large, Deep Vee.

In a cat, I have no experience.

MarylandMark
08-24-2009, 08:00 PM
Without a doubt the cheapest performance upgrade you can do!!!!

Spring- larger pitch prop since cooler water and cooler air temps

Summer- smaller pitch due to hot and humid and most likely more people on the boat, longer trips (more full weight), overnight bags, etc

Fall- larger pitch again

and I just run a fish boat...

t500hps
08-24-2009, 08:02 PM
Not only for the reason mentioned, but what if you damage a prop badly.......at least you would have another set to go back out boating (I'm down to 3 sets at the moment)

cougarman
08-25-2009, 09:35 AM
Thanks guys keep the answers coming :)

Jon

DAREDEVIL
08-25-2009, 09:49 AM
I have 3 props for my single and only use just 1 ( the fast one ),
i guess if i only had that 1 it would be wrecked by now .LOL:sifone:

PlumCrazy
08-26-2009, 12:27 PM
I always have one stock set and one labbed set of props with the same pitch. It's partly for backup and partly for boating conditions. If the water is low or I know I'm taking out people that don't want to go fast, I will run the stock props. If the temp is high, I keep the RPM's where I want them with the labbed props. They're only good for an extra 1 MPH, but every little bit helps.

bbladesprops
08-26-2009, 01:56 PM