PDA

View Full Version : GM power steering issue

catmando
01-16-2009, 08:34 PM
Power goes away during low-speed turns. Affects the Chevrolet Avalanche, Tahoe, Suburban and Silverado trucks; GMC Sierra and Yukon; Escalade and Hummer H2.

GM says it's a "non-issue" but lawsuits have been filed. Anybody on here having this problem? I have a Dodge so it doesn't affect me.

go4broke
01-16-2009, 10:03 PM
I haven't run into it.

Expensive Date
01-17-2009, 12:28 AM
Never heard any thing about this and I am in GM dealerships alll the time.Curious what are you looking for?

inbetween
01-17-2009, 01:07 AM
I'm a GM dealer tech. Nothing here either. What's up?

cig1988
01-17-2009, 06:31 AM
I have that problem on my '99 Chevy dually. While it was under warranty the dealer told me it was normal.

searaycer
01-17-2009, 08:15 AM
My 03 Silverado SS acts this way, feels real funny in a parking lot, wheel kind of hunts from side to side. I was getting ready to have the dealer look at it, I will let you know what they say

inbetween
01-17-2009, 09:45 AM
Some one try a steering wheel position sensor. It's at the bottom of the steering column inside near where the shaft from the outside bolts on. should have an electrical connector on it. When those go bad, they cause some strange issues with low speed steering. Not a big problem with the trucks, but one that can be difficult verify without changing the part.

Pete
01-17-2009, 10:12 AM
Some one try a steering wheel position sensor. It's at the bottom of the steering column inside near where the shaft from the outside bolts on. should have an electrical connector on it. When those go bad, they cause some strange issues with low speed steering. Not a big problem with the trucks, but one that can be difficult verify without changing the part.

Bingo. Have changed a few.

sledge
01-17-2009, 12:25 PM
Is this a winter only thing? Is there still two part numbers for fluid, one for the colder climates?