PDA

View Full Version : Driving my new BT

stevewy
03-24-2013, 09:06 PM
Hard to believe it's almost the first of April and still below freezing in Michigan. My canal is still frozen, and looks to still be about 12" - 16" lower water level than last year.

As depressing as this cold is, I know boating is just around the corner. I hope to splash my new BT (a 2002 - but "new" for me) in 3 or 4 weeks. I've done a fair amount of work on it over the winter, and still have a little to go, but IT's READY. Now, I'm starting to get a little anxious to drive it. As I've mentioned in previous threads (when looking to buy), I'm basically new to performance boating. Twenty years experience with a flybridge cruiser, and 4 years with a PQ 280 (single 502). The PQ was obviously different than the cruiser, but really was super easy to learn to handle/dock. I think the BT is going to be a different story. I'm still pretty concerned about the durability of the XR drives (I have twin 500 EFI's), but, am hopeful that if handled carefully I'll be ok. Now, for a few dumb questions for a novice BT driver:

1) When getting my PQ on plane I always had the tabs all the way down and the drives trimmed in. I assume the BT is the same. I've been told to really baby it getting up on plane. I assume "baby" it means throttle very slowly and try to keep the bow down. Is this correct?

2) Once up on plane; I would incrementally raise the tabs to get my bow up and then incrementally bring the drives up. I'm told on my BT that for normal cruising (40 - 50 MPH) only to raise the tabs to about "3" and then only use them to level the ride. Not to use them for speed. I was told to bring the drives out gradually and use them to reach my speed. Hopefully, at around 3500 with the drives trimmed I can cruise at my 45 MPH or so. Again, correct?