PDA

View Full Version : Adjusting Drive and Tab Indicators?

hotjava66
04-04-2010, 07:12 PM
This may sound like a dumb question, but I have never done it before. My new to me boat, I noticed the other day when I brought it home that the drive indicators dont jive with actual position. How do you adjust them to match, is it a big deal or simple, i didnt do any digging to look at the actual mechanics, and the boat is away from home for a bit, so cant look now. If it is a major thing I have been wanting to change the actual indicators because they are pretty dated. Also where would you set them for baseline and at what indicated #? Any input appreciated:USA:

Buoy
04-04-2010, 07:17 PM
I'm assuming these are likely just cable actuated, and should be a simple adjustment in cable length (there should be some adjustment in the cable) so that they read zero at zero trim.
I'm not an expert by any means, but I imagine as long as you know where Zero is, whether you adjust it to +4, or -4, it will read different from any other boat.
Just a part of learning your boat.
Trim indicators are cool, but your azz in the seat will tell you where you need to be:)

hotjava66
04-04-2010, 07:28 PM
I'm assuming these are likely just cable actuated, and should be a simple adjustment in cable length (there should be some adjustment in the cable) so that they read zero at zero trim.
I'm not an expert by any means, but I imagine as long as you know where Zero is, whether you adjust it to +4, or -4, it will read different from any other boat.
Just a part of learning your boat.
Trim indicators are cool, but your azz in the seat will tell you where you need to be:)