PDA

View Full Version : Question for the 1911 gurus.

buck
03-05-2010, 12:39 AM
I have zero experience or knowledge about anything 1911 related. To be honest, I've never even shot one.

I have been approached about purchasing a Para Ordnance SF-45 1911. Buddy of mine ended up ordering one through his store many moons ago. He had pretty much forgotten about ordering it meanwhile picking up a Kimber Pro with Crimson Trace grips. The Para came in unexpectedly this week. He has offered it to me prior to putting out in the case.

The only info I have is what I've briefly read in an hour or so on the internet. I need to know if this is a good brand to purchase. Are there known problems with this gun?

I've been around 9's, 10's, and 40's enough to make an educated decision. I am clueless when it comes to this model of firearm.

Apparently it's a coyote tan or desert tan sort of color. Been thinking recently about adding an auto pistol to my arsenal and figured this may be something that will tickle my pickle so to speak. The price of $800 has been thrown at me with the indication that this is his cost.

Let me have it...

Chris
03-05-2010, 08:49 AM
I believe the SF 45 was a custom piece put together in a group buy for Special Forces soldiers. It was a non-mil build- done privately and individually. It would be a collector's item. The thing is, most firearms aren't a great investment. The vast majority don't appreciate and are lucky to keep pace with inflation. I don't collect things- if I don't use it, it goes. Maybe you're different. But as a shooter, that would diminish its value and the Para's just aren't that great of shooters. They have a funky extractor and can be ammo sensitive. That's another deal-breaker. If it aggravates me, I'm out. There are way too many properly functioning pieces out there for me to deal with anything that's finicky.