PDA

View Full Version : 1999 7.3 Powerstroke

Boat1
02-27-2010, 03:46 PM
Truck is high milage, 410,000. Last summer replaced all injectors, high pressure oil pump, injector pressure regulator, injector wiring harness, and all glow plugs. When below 30 degrees if I do not plug in the truck, it will not start and run. Batteries are one year old, crank speed is good warm. During cold cranking I have white smoke from tailpipe, I also notice the crank speed increase, I assume from the fuel in the cylinders. I have an OTC scan tool but have not checked injector pressure during cold cranking. I also can perform an injector test with this tool but have not done it cold. I'm wondering if the engine is just worn out to the point that the compression won't fire at the cold temps. I have limited diesel experience, especially diagnostic. I run Stanadyne additive, NAPA 15-40 oil, Motorcraft filter.

I recently discovered this site and would be greatful for any diagnostic direction.

MarylandMark
02-27-2010, 03:52 PM
Welcome to SOS!!

410K miles- WOW!!

fixxxer22
02-27-2010, 03:58 PM
Are you hearing the loud click of the glow plug control relay when you cycle the key to run? Do you see the dash lights and interior lights dim when the wait to start lamp comes on? Do you hear a buzz under the dash when you are starting cold?

Boat1
02-27-2010, 05:19 PM
I replaced the glow plug relay. I do not see any voltage drop on the dash guage and the wait to start cycle is pretty short. I estimate the wait to start cycle when cold is about 8-10 seconds. I have not checked voltage output from the relay, by the time I get to it the wait to start cycle is over. Thanks for your time.

Sydwayz
02-28-2010, 02:35 AM
www.thedieselstop.com is a much better place to research.

Boat1
02-28-2010, 11:49 AM