PDA

View Full Version : Gear Lube Question

Geronimo36
11-02-2009, 02:50 PM
So I was bored and got to thinking.....(never a good thing):ack2:

I've been using Amsoil Marine Gearlube since 2007 with excellent results. Amsoil makes other Gearlube products that are engineered for "Extreme Pressure" (EP) 75/140 which they brand "Severe Gear SVO".

So I sent an email to the tech department today, asking if it's ok to mix the marine lube with the Severe Gear so I could gain some of the benefit from using the Severe Gear. He suggested that I switch over to the high end Severe Gear since I'm looking for EP protection.

Then I wrote back and told him the reason I use the marine lube with its ability to mix 10% with water and wanted to realize the benefit of both the EP and possible water mix.

He wrote me back and said; "Frank, I see your point. Go ahead and mix the two. All our gearlubes can be mixed together and what you suggest is probably best."

I know a lot of guys have their own home brews etc but I'm not interested in that... My thinking is it would net me a mix with half the capabilities of the full-blown severe gear and 5% water mix.

So the main question is, would you do it?:lurk5:

http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/svo.aspx