PDA

View Full Version : Propane gas home use

Magicfloat
11-10-2008, 11:35 PM
Any experts out there? Our house uses propane gas for a 75 gallon water heater,an outdoor grill,and a commercial type kitchen stove(6 burners, 2 ovens,griddle)Karen cooks every day,only 2 of us,No gas heat,all electric heat. We are using 75 gallons a month,that's about 2.5 gallons a day. Some of my friends say I must have a leak,gas company says it's about right. Should I pay to have a leak test?

BY U BOY
11-11-2008, 12:10 AM
Have the test done,at least it will give you piece of mind. What is the estimated annual cost to operate the water heater? How many burners and ovens are you wife using on that 48" range?

phragle
11-11-2008, 12:30 AM
in my days as a firefighter, I have seen what a propane leak/explosion does to a house and a family... if there is even a 1% chance you think you have a leak, have it checked.

Tony
11-11-2008, 08:29 AM
If you have a leak in or near the house chances are you would catch the occasional wiff of propane. Call your supplier theres a good chance they will come and do a leakdown and sniff test for free. One real simple place to start is by checking all of the in line ball valves in the house, if they turn on and off easily chances are they are leaking.

OldSchool
11-11-2008, 08:58 AM
There is just two of us at my house and we have our oven/stove and a gas fireplace on propane on an 80 gallon tank. I didn't have to fill it the first time (it was full when we moved in) for 18 months. We had the fireplace on almost every night last winter.

Bottom line...We've been in our house for 31 months and have used as much propane as you use every 3 months!!!!! Get it checked!!!!

PS- We did learn that leaving the pilot light on in the fireplace eats up the propane. I know that the water heater would have the pilot on, does the stove have a continuous pilot as well??

cigdaze
11-11-2008, 09:11 AM