PDA

View Full Version : Fiberglass Speaker Pod.....

Wayne Pennell
10-23-2009, 10:13 AM
I am going to attempt to make a fiberglass speaker pod this off season. I have NO experience with this sort of thing but am willing to attempt. Is there anything tricks or tips I should be aware of?

My first step is to cut the MDF plywoof to fit on the step where the speakers will be located. Position the speakers where I want them and with a glue gun and strips of wood position the speaker rings in the correct location. Cut fiberglass cloth to size and stretch over box and staple to desired form. Mix fiberglass resin and apply with paint brush...let cure for roughly 1/2 hour or until tacky. Apply second layer of resin and let cure completely. Sand to desired finish and paint to desired color and add clear coat. Install speakers and wire. Is there anything I am missing or something else to be aware of?

Wayne

Chris
10-23-2009, 10:21 AM
Use something like Starboard or Coosa. At a bare minimum an exterior plywood. MDF is like a sponge. No amount of encapsulation will prevent it from absorbing moisture and sweling up.

jhenrie
10-23-2009, 11:42 AM
whar chris said , no mdf in the boat.

Perlmudder
10-23-2009, 11:54 AM
Jassman has a super cool pair for his nor tech. maybe he will post some pics!

insanity
10-23-2009, 02:22 PM
Check out www.the12volt.com, there is a lot of speaker box fabrication done over there.

There are two things I would change with your plans.
1) No MDF, not in the boat. Get a good plywood to use for your flat sections.
2) Use a soft, stretchy fabric to wrap around everything to get your shape. Fiberglass mat doesn't stretch, it tears. I've used just about everything, old bed sheets, flannel shirts, fleece. Go to the fabric store and find something, usually fleece works pretty good.